top of page
Search
  • jocelynjohnson

Australia Part 1: Sunshine Coast and Lady Elliot Island

After a few extra days in New Zealand, I was able to meet my mom in Brisbane! We rented a car and drove up the Sunshine Coast to Hervey Bay. We stopped at Caloundra to stretch our legs then headed north to Mooloolaba and Noosa Beaches. I also taught my mom to drive on the left side of the road. At first she was a bit nervous, but now she's a total pro!



The next day we got up early to catch a flight to Lady Elliot Island. We rode in a tiny plane with furry chairs which was not very fun, but the island was stunning! There were thousands of White Headed Noddy birds breeding and a gorgeous healthy reef surrounding the island. Unfortunately the side where the manta rays swim was closed due to high winds, but we were able to see sea turtles and so many colorful corals and fish!

On the plan ride home, we got our first glances at the wild bush fires that are currently raging through Australia. These fires are destroying important habitat for koalas and other native animals and threatening the lives and property of Australians in these areas. I really hope they get some rain soon


Back at Hervey Bay, we stayed one more night then woke up the next morning to drive to Rainbow Beach.

On the road to Brisbane Airport, we stopped in the Hinterlands for lunch and took a detour to find some wild kangaroos. I spotted a few from a distance, but we weren't lucky enough to see a whole mob. That concluded our time in the Brisbane area. On to Sydney!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Travel Hiccup

A few days before leaving New Zealand, I felt a strange pain in my left calf. I decided to see a doctor and after some tests, found out that I had a blood clot in my leg. Instead of meeting my mom in

bottom of page